Blogtacular – (5) What to wear

Going-to-Blogtacular-200

Yesterday’s topic centred on equipment essentials, so naturally today’s topic focuses on what to wear to Blogtacular!

OK, on the face of it, clothing doesn’t break the top 10 most important things … or does it?

Fringe event: Photowalk

I have just found out that I won a place on the photowalk. I’m super stoked about this, especially as the photowalk leader is none other than Kristabel Plummer of I want you to know fame. The photography on her website are a sight to behold, so if I can gain any morsel of expertise from her, I will consider the entire photowalk a success.

The location is a secret and will remain so up to the last minute. So, what on earth to wear, and how to plan wen we have so little information to hand? Considering we will be out and about in the elements for up to 2 hours, that automatically rules out my 12 inch heels.  So, my thoughts are to start with the footwear and work my way up.

  • Trainers – I’m guessing that the majority day will be spent walking on hard concrete or tarmac, with the possibility of a park or along a waterway. So that means trainers, as they should cope with most if not all London terrain. If the walk becomes muddy, that rules out my ‘fancy’ trainers, so it’s back to plain black.
  • Trousers – As much as I would like to wear one of my newly hand made dresses, practically it would be best to wear comfy trousers. That, and dresses rarely go well with dresses.  Plus Kristabel is a fashion guru – I doubt she would give a tuppence, but I think I should try to make a fashionable effort.
  • Top – That is currently a work in progress, and is subject to another post – watch this space!
  • Other items: Naturally I will keep an eye out for the weather forecast, but I will consider taking either a mac or some sort of knitwear in case it gets cold or rains. Also a spare water proof bag and a brolly, just in case.

Fringe event: Party

I might wear a frock and my 12 inch heels! Well I’m going to make more of an effort, that said, its nice to know that if I wear a jeans and t-shirt combo, I won’t be out of place. But, any excuse to dress up is more than enough for me.

Blogtacular

For the main event, I’m going to keep things simple, with comfort as a priority. I imagine there will be a lot of sitting, so I will be steering away from any restrictive clothing. I’m actually making an outfit specially, thus pictures will posted in due course.

I will review my clothing choices and post the results after Blogtacular.

What are you planning on wearing to the events? Are you keeping things practical or dressing up to the nines? Share your ideas in the comments box below.

Tomorrow’s topic will be, “Last minute checks”. Hope to see you then.

 

 

Leave a Reply

