Blogtacular – (4) Equipment essentials

Going-to-Blogtacular-200

Sadly, I write this post after yesterday’s double terrorist attacks in London. Yet again, I find the motivation to blog difficult as my thoughts are understandably elsewhere.

I suggested that at the event we could spare a moment to pay our respects to the victims of terrorist attacks around the world. I also suggested that we could have a 1 day fundraiser in support of the victims of the 3 recent attacks in London and Manchester.

The ideas were thought of as ‘nice’, but not the ‘focus’ of the event.

I’m a little disappointed by the response. I feel that if we don’t show our support either in a symbolic or practical way, then what is the point of the whole thing? This has thrown some shade, and I’m now questioning the purpose of the event and if I will personally get anything positive from it. Here’s hoping things improve nearer the time.

If you have any ideas on what we could do to show our support to the victims of these recent attacks, both here and abroad, please let me know.

Some attendees have expressed their worries about security and safety coming into London. Yes, it is a worrying time, but none of us know what is around the corner, so for me, it is best to carry on, be aware of the situation and try my best to do my best in all things. If we continue to love and respect each other, then these cruel events will diminish.  If we allow fear to triumph, then we have all lost.

I am more determined today than yesterday to achieve my goals, and if I don’t reach them, well at least I tried my best, and caused no harm. Personally, rather than worrying about something that probably won’t happen, I would rather do something practical like a take part in a one minute silence to think about the victims, or to help raise funds for the victims and their families and/ or encourage participation in something nurturing, positive and creative. Something that promotes love and diminishes fear and hate.

Now back to the purpose of this post – yesterday  I wrote about my 4 urgent social media revamp tasks. Today, I’m writing about the equipment I’m considering taking to Blogtacular.

With so many people due to attend, the thought of carrying around a huge bag of tricks doesn’t appeal. I know by lunch time I will be tired, sore and perhaps even a little hangry. So I plan to take the absolute minimum essentials, these are:

  1. Pen and notepaper.  I understand some stationery will be provided, but having my own means I will have enough for my copious notes. I am the world’s worse at short hand, and tend to write verbatim for fear of missing something. Actually, it’s better to listen, especially as all the talks are recorded. But, we all have our little quirks, and if it makes me feel better, then so be it. I can also hide in a corner and write my thesis, just in case I feel a little overwhelmed.
  2. Bottle of water. Yes, food and drinks are provided, but as the weather is heating up, it’s always a good idea to travel with water. The Tube can be very hot at this time of year, and we don’t what anyone suffering from heat exhaustion. Plus, I imagine at peak times there will be a long queue for the refreshments, so maybe it could save time.
  3. Phone. Great for Insta stories, swapping new contact details, photography, note taking, voice memos etc.  Am I the only person who doesn’t use their phone to actually call people? I have a spare battery and card and that’s it.
  4. Paper clips. This may seem an odd one, but when you have loads of information, potentially tons of business cards and of course masses of notes, paper clips might help to keep everything in order. Just 2 or 3 could make all the difference.
  5. Plastic / water proof or water resistant A4 document wallet. I get nervous, and then I spill something, usually over my precious documents or note book. Or it rains cats and dogs and everything gets soaking wet. But this time I’m prepared – I’m taking a plastic wallet, which will help keep all my papers safe from my cup of tea. That and remembering that I’m not an octopus.
  6. Spare waterproof shopper. Only last week I was, for once, carrying my fashionable straw basket, when the heavens opened. Thank goodness I had my large waterproof shopper which covered my basket, saving both it and its contents from the downpour. Plus, I’m hoping that the stalls at the events will have a few goodies for me to bring home.
  7. Spare energy bar / snacks.  Again for the journey to and from the event.

What essentials are you planning to take with you to Blogtacular? Please share in the comment box below.

Tomorrow’s topic will be, “What to wear”. Hope to see you then.

 

 

Leave a Reply

