Blogtacular 2017 – (2) Fears and Concerns

Hello,

Going-to-Blogtacular-200

Yesterday, I wrote about my hopes for Blogtacular 2017. Today the topic relates to my fears, concerns and how I will attempt to tackle them.

I admit, the initial outlay for me is a huge spur, in that I need to make this event cost effective for me and my future plans.  But like many people, the thought of meeting potentially 100s of people all at once, fills me with a mix of excitement and dread.  What if I say the wrong thing, what if wear something inappropriate?

I am definitely one of those people who would rather find the nearest, shaded corner and stick to it like glue. I want to focus on the learning opportunities, without worrying about how I look or if I say something silly.

Solution? – Chill out, stop eating cow and most importantly stop worrying about these things.  Easier said than done of course, but these are 3 things I need to remember:

  1. One of the goals of this event is to have as much fun as possible. Most of the people going to Blogtacular were either in the same boat or are in the same boat.  We are all going to be a bit nervous, even probably the hosts! But it’s important to remember, this is an event in London, in June, which celebrates all things blogging, vlogging, creative, shopping, crafts … heck is it June 10th yet?
  2. Another goal I have is to meet more people. Blogging is great fun, but can suddenly become a very solitary career if not kept in check. I have noticed how hard it is to discuss blogging matters to non-bloggers.  As much as I love the movie “The Net”, I don’t relish a future as the Sandra Bullock character.
  3. The main goal for me during this event is to learn how to take this blog, my youtube channel, Pinterest and Instagram feeds further. Whirling ideas around in my own head is only going to get me so far. It is also a chance to share and even impart some of my own wisdom to others. The opportunity to share and exchange ideas is a positive thing and will always lead to growth .

So, while no doubt I will be spending some time hiding in my strategically selected corner, gathering up courage to speak to some poor, unsuspecting soul, – for which I apologise now in case I do say something stupid – I will also, after a suitable amount of time has elapsed, venue out onto the ‘dance floor’.

Another ways to break the ice is to attend one of the fringe events. There are 2 photowalks and a videowalk scheduled for Friday 9th, as well as a pre-conference party, also held on Friday. These are opportunities to meet people before the conference in a more manageable group size, as well as gain some more skills so vital to the blogging arena. So if you can, sign up for these fringe events and hopefully it will help ease any fears you may have.

What are your tips and suggestions to cope with anxiety or dealing with unusual situations? Are you shy or worried about meeting new people? How do you overcome these situations? Please comment below and share your ideas.

Tomorrow, I will write about how I’m planning to revamp my social network in time for Blogtacular. Please subscribe so you don’t miss the next instalment in this series.

Thanks for reading, see you tomorrow.

One thought on “Blogtacular 2017 – (2) Fears and Concerns

Leave a Reply

