EasterSpringDress2017 Reveal: Part 2 Palm Sunday

Hello,

Today I will show case the outfit I wore on Palm Sunday.

Original plans:

To make a simple top made with especially purchased palm tree or palm leaf print, to co-ordinate with items already in my wardrobe.

Issues:

Could I find a suitable palm print fabric? Could I heck! I searched the internet, visited Walthamstow fabric market – twice!, went to every fabric shop in Goldhawk Road, and found … nothing.  I’m pretty shocked by this as Greenery is the Pantone colour of 2017, and palm prints are all over the place in high street and home decor shops.

I won’t give up on this and will try other fabric haberdashery districts, but due to running out of time, I adapted my plans and came up with this:-

Palm Sunday Inspired outfit

_DSC6181.jpg

The skirt is purchased, but I made the top from some fabric I had in my stash. The fabric is a olive green polyester and made from a self drafted tank top pattern. The combined neck and arm holes facing is made with the same fabric.

What I would change or do differently

As I mentioned, I wanted to make a top with an element of palm tree or palm leaf print to represent Palm Sunday.  When I do find a suitable fabric, I will buy some for a tank top, and maybe some more to line a simple plain cream jacket to co-ordinate.  If you have any ideas as to where I can locate this fabric, please let me know.

That said, I have a top, which was quick to make and comfortable to wear. I have only recently embraced green as a colour to wear and so far, apart from the palm fabric hiccup, it has been fun.

Tomorrow, I will showcase my outfit for Easter Monday, please subscribe to Champagne Twist so you don’t miss it.

Thanks for reading, see you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

