Learn how to knit the pussy hat

Hello,

Well, what a fabulous day yesterday was. It was the first time I have been able to smile until my face hurts for months. Ever since #FakePresident robbed the election, I have felt helpless, down hearted – you know all the usual. Actually, it not usual. None of this is. I’m normally a happy, go lucky, cheerful soul. Brexit and #FakePresident temporarily hampered that. Temporarily not permanently.

Recently, as my Instagram followers know, I came across, during my pre-spring clear up, some lovely balls of wool.  In less than 10 days I knitted 1 scarf, 1 hat and a pair of mittens. I am not a knitter. I occasionally dabble in the craft, but I generally stick to the knit one row and pearl one row regime and that’s about that. Hardly challenging, but it served me well every time I wanted a new scarf.

But 10 days ago, I discovered 4.5 balls of wool. Such a lovely green shade, the colour of growth, nature, even hope for the future. And I started knitting. But I didn’t just want to knit. I wanted a challenge. I wanted to do justice to this beautiful yarn and create something other than just a bog standard garter stitch scarf.

I did some research and learnt finally how to do a simple 2×2 rib stitch. That lead to me successfully knitting a wearable hat. I then researched how to make finger-less mittens, and I’m happy to say that I have made my first complete set of winter woollen  accessories.

greenery-knits

If little me can do this in 10 days, whilst running a social network, working and negotiating life in a capital city, what can I achieve in 10 weeks?

In those 10 days, I have watched as one role model family left the White House, to be replaced by the most despicable, greedy, criminal, un-American, unpatriotic, classless, unworthy, traitors move in.

But during those 10 days, I have also witnessed the very best in humanity. Millions boycotted the Inauguration, much the annoyance and embarrassment of the #FakePresident, and millions and millions, not just in Washington, but all over the US and all over the world came out the very next day to protest. The causes were many and vast, but centred around the fight to protect the civil rights for all. The protests also gave me something. Something very dangerous to people who believe in hate. The protests gave me hope.

So to my fellow fighters of equality, lovers of the human race, protectors of civil rights, I want to say …

THANK YOU.

This is a long introduction to a video I have discovered earlier today – a tutorial for the pussy hat project. Yesterday’s worldwide protests may be over, but it only marked the beginning of to the road for justice. So I encourage you to continue the protest by knitting. Knit your pussy hats, not only for yourself, but for your neighbours, family, friends, even people you don’t know. Knit, and wear with pride your creations, and continue prove to the #FakePresident, that Love will always trump hate.

By the way, I described myself earlier as, ‘not a knitter’. That was 10 days ago. Now, I’m working on my 4th knitting project of the year (day 22 of 2017!), and planning my 5th. I think I can call myself a knitter now. I wonder what I will be in 10 weeks from now – word on the street is there will soon be a vacancy in the Oval Office …

Just imagine what you can achieve when you believe in yourself and love others. But don’t just imagine, work towards your goals, then set higher, bigger goals. That way our children and grandchildren won’t have to protest in the same way we, our parents and grandparents had to.

I shall be sharing more details about my knitwear collection soon. For now, thanks for reading, and please join me in our quest for equality for all. Subscribe, follow, like, comment and love 🙂

Leave a Reply

