Ask yourself these 3 questions for a productive 2017

It’s the start of the year, and naturally many of us look for tips for how to keep motived for the next 11 months of 2017.

I recently came across Marie Forleo’s YouTube channel and thought I should share one of her vlogs. In it, she suggests asking yourself 3 questions when reviewing your 2016.

 

The 3 steps or questions, and my answers, are as follows:

Question 1: One thing I did in 2016 that I was proud of?

I somehow managed, against much adversity from many sides, co-hosted a photo exhibition. To say that I’m proud of myself is an understatement.  It was a lot of hard work, stress and anxiety, but I have achieved a long held dream, and it has reminded me that I can achieve anything I set my mind to.

Question 2: One mistake did I make and what did I learn from it?

Not focusing on myself as much as I have focused on others. I often sacrifice my dreams for the good of others – be they in my work team, social group or just people I see down the street. However, I have learnt that is completely the wrong way to go about things. If you suddenly find yourself in a position where your dreams are pushed to the back burner, whilst everyone else around is progressing, having positively gained from you, ask yourself this – is everyone around you looking out for your best interests in the same way you are looking out for theirs? If the answer is no, you need to move and quickly. Sadly, there are many takers in this world, and fewer givers. You are too important to be a door mat.

Question 3: What am I willing to let go of?

I am willing to let go of many and varied possessions which I have absolutely no need for.  Rather than these ‘things’ being a safely blanket, they have become a burden, prohibiting me from seeking the future I want. Hence, over the coming months, I’m boosting my inner KonMari and letting go of materials (not the fabric kind, I do have my limits!) that are physically, mentally and emotionally holding me back.  My recycle bins are going to be working overtime from now, until the foreseeable future.

What are your plans for 2017?  Please share in the comments below.

Thanks for reading, and please don’t forget to subscribe to this blog for more info and tips.

One thought on “Ask yourself these 3 questions for a productive 2017

Leave a Reply

