Great British Sewing Bee 1 hour challenge – week 6

daisy meadow dress, michael miller fabric pattern simplicity 2444

Hello,

Well, it’s been an interesting week in London. I’ve been glued to the news 1 minute and distracting myself from the news with my sewing machine the next. I decided to keep calm and carry on sewing.

As a result, I have created the Daisy Meadow dress.  As a person who rarely wears dresses (I’m more of a t-shirt and comfy trousers person), I’m so happy with this dress.

daisy meadow dress, michael miller fabric pattern simplicity 2444
Daisy Meadow Dress by Champagne Twist

Details:

Pattern: Simplicity 2444 bodice, self designed skirt, with in-seam pockets

Fabric: Daisy Meadow by Michael Miller

Fabric Composition: 100% Cotton

Comments:  This is my first green dress.  From afar, I will probably look like a walking meadow, but I honestly don’t care, I’m so happy with my new frock. This dress was on the to-do list for months, using a pattern that I purchased years ago.  I finally managed to make the famous Simplicity 2444 dress, and I’m pretty chuffed with it.

The dress came together very quickly, it was stitched up within an hour, however I had to order a green zip, hence the delay in completion.  I didn’t have to make any adjustments to the bodice, but I did have to draft a new skirt as the fabric wasn’t wide enough.

dress made with michael miller fabric daisy meadow, made by champagnetwist.wordpress.com
Daisy Meadow Dress by Champagne Twist

I also didn’t bother with the arm hole facing pattern, as would like to use the left over fabric for something else.  So I used some pre-made bias binding I had in my stash. Yes it’s not green, but the trend this year is to use a surprise lining, and facings are sort of like surprise linings, right?

_DSC3164.jpg
Bias binding facing, in a contrasting print.

Anyway, I aim to post some more pictures over the next few days, but over all I really like this pattern – expect to see more soon.

What do you think?  Thanks for reading, please don’t forget to subscribe and comment below.

 

5 thoughts on “Great British Sewing Bee 1 hour challenge – week 6

Leave a Reply

