Great British Sewing Bee 1 hour challenge – week 4

GBSB 1 hour

WEEK 4 – International

This week’s theme on GBSB is ‘international’.  So looking for an alternative challenge, following my far too quickly completed Birdie Cami, I have been eyeing up Sewing Bee’s contestant Rumana’s sewing pattern weights.  At first I wasn’t sure what they were, but now I know, they have become a revelation and an instant must have!

I had been toying with the idea of purchasing some metal rings to use as weights, from the local builders merchants.  But these I think are more environmentally friendly, economical and pretty.

I researched a couple of methods, eventually creating an amalgamation, adding my own little twist. Here are the links, if you would like to make your own pattern weights:

I had a bag of really old rice that I was about to throw onto the compost heap. I mixed the rice with some lavender flowers, to create the filling, doubling up the weights’ role as scented pouches.

Sewing pattern weights construction summary
Sewing pattern weights construction summary
Sewing pattern weights construction summary
Sewing pattern weights construction summary

So here’s the result, 2 sewing pattern weights, with more on the way.  It is certainly a great stash buster, as well as a practical tool which didn’t cost me anything, as I already had the materials.  And as this was an amalgamation of 2 construction methods from bloggers from other countries, plus a couple of ideas of my own, this fits in with the international theme.

sewing weights champagne twist
Sewing pattern weights

In all, both the weights took about 45 mins from start to finish to make. I plan to make at least 8 more, as well as a patchwork storage bag, made from the left over scraps. This potentially means this project is one of my most economical ever. Makes up for burning the fabric for my Birdie Cami.  That’s another successful challenge completed.

I will let you know how I progress with the other weights and the bag.  Next week’s GBSB theme is 1960s.  I feel it’s time to make a 60s style skirt, don’t you?

Thanks for reading, don’t forget to like, subscribe and comment.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

