My Great Big Sewing Resolution: Bailen top

Sewing Resolution 2016

Here’s my second top for 2016 – Pauline Alice’s Bailen camisole. In my opinion, this is one of her best designs, and the bonus?  The pattern is absolutely free! And if that wasn’t enough, it’s 2 patterns in 1, a camisole and a dress! Is it Christmas again?

I had a scant metre of light gold silk polyester which I brought from a bargain bucket somewhere ages ago, which was, as per my other fabrics, stashed neatly away in my collection.  The colour just happened to match the gold pattern on the pineapple print fabric I recently purchased, which is going to be made into a skirt.  Instant outfit!

Golden Pineapple Outfit
Fabrics for the Golden Pineapple Outfit Champagne with a Twist champagnetwist.wordpress.com

It took me about 3 hours to assemble from piecing together the PDF pattern to hand finishing the hem. The instructions are easy to follow, and the resulting top fits perfectly without any pattern adjustment.

The challenge was cutting the top on the bias, but I just folded the fabric to form a right angled triangle and placed the 2 pattern pieces on the fold, as instructed. I used my rotary cutter to ensure the cut pieces were accurate.

Bailén top
Pauline Alice’s Bailen Camisole pattern                                                                        Champagne with a Twist

So that’s 2 tops in 2 weeks! Not bad going, even if I do say so myself.

The kimono is taking some time, but that’s due in part to making my own bias binding.  If you are interested in how to make your own bias binding, I’m planning a tutorial soon, so please stay tuned.

Hope you are keeping up with your New Year resolutions, let us know how you’re getting on. Please comment below.

Bye for now.

 

2 thoughts on “My Great Big Sewing Resolution: Bailen top

Leave a Reply

